A Strange Experience Connecting Discussion Forum Themes

The other day I was presented with an idea in one of our discussion forums in relation to the “gogies” of learning. Traditionally, we look to 3 gogies in learning: pedagogy, andragogy, and heutagogy. Our professor posted this image which appealed to me:

3%20new%20gogies

I am big proponent of self-directed learning, collaborative learning and online learning. Technology is my thing, as I work in software and when I contemplate theory I lean towards how will technology change this. In my education journey, I plan to focus on online delivery and I’m even looking to apply to MA programs in educational technologies.

So it’s easy to see the appeal of this graphic for me. In response to the forum, I posted my ideas of how I think pedagogy and andragogy are and will continue to be disrupted by technology, moving them more towards heutagogy, peeragogy, and cybergogy. This move seems natural to me, as technologies become more engaging and emphasize self-directed behaviours.

My first few search terms lead to tons of articles confirming my beliefs and used strong words like ‘disrupt’. Then I noticed a common theme: They were all blogs from e-learning companies offering some sort of paid for service, like Learning Management systems and course authoring software! The image above even is from one such company (Shift).

These companies have been coming up in my searches a lot lately, as I have been investigating different tools and authoring programs. I used a different search engine and the results were much different.

The strange thing is we were also discussing this in another forum on confirmation bias–the fact that facebook and other technologies have algorithms that present different items that are interesting to users based on their online behaviours. Even if I did not want to confirm my bias, my searches where doing this for me!

This example of research blunder really emphasizes the need for critical thinking and intellectual standards. We need to be cautious and critical of our information sources, as they could have a underlying motivation (like selling a product). And when everything seems to be agreeing with us, we should seek to challenge our own view.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

