E-learning and Engagement

As you’ve probably guessed from previous blogs, I am a huge fan of technology and e-learning. I was born right at the intersection of Gen X and Millennial generations, so I’ve spent most of my adult life immersed in technology. I also work in technology, so it’s ingrained in most things I do.

This means that when it comes to being an educator I’m always looking for ways to incorporate technology. When it comes to education, I also think face time is declining. There are so many factors that make face time difficult. For an example, in my company, our employees are spread across different timezones and locations, so it can be difficult to facilitate anything synchronously. This has led me to bridge more into e-learning development.

I think my predisposal to e-learning may have gone a little crazy. While I’m always thinking ‘is this an interactive project?’ when creating content, I have forgotten some of the basics of teaching–the why and motivation. Sure my content is pretty and interactive, but what ensures learners actually engage with the material? This is a drawback with e-learning.

While I have an LMS that I can track adherence to assignments, I need to spend more time showing learners the value of learning. There’s nothing wrong with the content I’m creating–it is fabulous! But I need to contextualize and vary the methodoly.

I think it can be easy to get lost in the technology. Technology is not bad. It is and will continue to become an important part of our lives. However, we can’t lose sight of the basics. Teaching is more than content creation.

 

Leave a Reply

